Babar Azam named captain of ICC’s Most Valuable Team of the Tournament, no Indian included


T20 World Cup: Babar Azam named captain of ICC’s Most Valuable Team of the Tournament, no Indian included

DUBAI: Pakistan skipper Babar Azam has been named as the captain of the Official ICC Men’s T20 World Cup Upstox Most Valuable Team of the Tournament.

The announcement was made by the International Cricket Council (ICC) Monday after Australia received the maiden T20 World Cup title. This is for the first time that no Indian cricketer is included in the squad introduced by the cricket governing physique.

Players from champions Australia, runners-up New Zealand, England, Pakistan, Sri Lanka and South Africa characteristic in the group chosen on the foundation of performances in the world cup.

Opening batter David Warner, leg-spinner Adam Zampa and seamer Josh Hazlewood all make the reduce for Australia after serving to steer their aspect to their first-ever T20 World Cup title.

There are additionally spots for England ace Jos Buttler as wicketkeeper, Pakistan’s Babar Azam as captain, New Zealand left-armer Trent Boult and Sri Lanka star Wanindu Hasaranga – the match’s main wicket-taker – in the line-up.

The aspect was pulled collectively by a range panel that includes commentators, former worldwide gamers and journalists Ian Bishop (Convenor), Natalie Germanos, Shane Watson, Lawrence Booth – of Wisden, the Daily Mail and Mail on Sunday – and Shahid Hashmi of Agence France Presse.

Commenting on the group, Ian Bishop stated: “As with any team selection there will be varying opinions, and robust discussion on the final composition of the squad. The panel respects that, and we encourage the strong debate that will ensue.”

He stated that this group was extremely troublesome to pick out over such a extremely aggressive match and the choices have been based mostly predominantly on the Super 12 onward to the last.

The group of the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2021 (in batting order) is:

  1. David Warner (Australia) – 289 runs at 48.16
  2. Jos Buttler (wk) (England) – 269 runs at 89.66, 5 dismissals
  3. Babar Azam (Captain, Pakistan) – 303 runs at 60.60
  4. Charith Asalanka (Sri Lanka) – 231 runs at 46.20
  5. Aiden Markram (South Africa) – 162 runs at 54.00
  6. Moeen Ali (England) – 92 runs at strike fee of 131.42, seven wickets at 11
  7. Wanindu Hasaranga (Sri Lanka) – 16 wickets at 9.75
  8. Adam Zampa (Australia) – 13 wickets at 12.07
  9. Josh Hazlewood (Australia) – 11 wickets at 15.90
  10. Trent Boult (New Zealand) – 13 wickets at 13.30
  11. Anrich Nortje (South Africa) – 9 wickets at 11.55

twelfth: Shaheen Afridi – seven wickets at 24.14

Captaining the aspect at No.3 is Pakistan skipper Babar, who was the solely batter to interrupt the 300-run barrier all through the length of the competitors.

His 68 not out in opposition to outdated rivals India powered Pakistan to a memorable 10-wicket victory, whereas three additional half-centuries in the Super 12 phases helped ebook his group’s slot in the semi-final in opposition to Australia.

And whereas they have been unable to battle previous Aaron Finch’s outfit, Babar helped himself to 39 in the first innings to complete his marketing campaign in usually constant vogue.

Taking his place as twelfth man is Pakistan prodigy Shaheen Afridi, who began his match in model with a blistering new ball spell in opposition to outdated foes India.

Afridi, 21, eliminated the talismanic high three trio of Rohit Sharma, KL Rahul and captain Virat Kohli to finish with figures of three for 31 and lay the foundations for a memorable victory.

The left-arm pacer completed the match with seven wickets at 24.14 and can no doubt proceed to star at a number of extra ICC World Cup occasions all through an thrilling future profession.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Related Post