Pakistan to host ICC Champions Trophy in 2025


Cricket fans enjoy the International T20 cricket match between Zimbabwes and Pakistani teams at the Gaddafi Cricket Stadium in Lahore on May 24, 2015. — AFP/File
Cricket followers benefit from the International T20 cricket match between Zimbabwe’s and Pakistani groups on the Gaddafi Cricket Stadium in Lahore on May 24, 2015. — AFP/File

Pakistan will host the International Cricket Council’s (ICC)  Champions Trophy in 2025 — the primary worldwide occasion  that the nation will host on its residence soil after greater than twenty years.

Pakistan final staged an ICC occasion in 1996 once they co-hosted the 50-over World Cup with India and Sri Lanka, however the nation has been largely starved of worldwide cricket after the 2009 assault on the touring Sri Lanka crew bus in Lahore.

The improvement got here because the ICC confirmed the 14 host nations of ICC males’s white-ball occasions from 2024-2031, an announcement from the cricket’s governing physique mentioned.

Eleven full members and three affiliate members have been chosen to host two ICC Men’s Cricket World Cups, 4 ICC Men’s T20 World Cups, and two ICC Men’s Champions Trophy occasions.

The USA and Namibia will host an ICC World Cup occasion for the primary time. Meanwhile, Australia, Bangladesh, England, Ireland, India, New Zealand, Pakistan, Scotland, South Africa, Sri Lanka, West Indies, and Zimbabwe have beforehand staged main occasions and can accomplish that once more over the subsequent decade.

The hosts have been chosen through a aggressive bidding course of overseen by a Board sub-committee chaired by Martin Snedden together with Sourav Ganguly and Ricky Skerritt.

The ICC board accepted the suggestions of the committee who carried out an intensive overview of every bid together with ICC administration.

An identical course of to establish the hosts for ICC Women’s and U19s occasions for the subsequent cycle will probably be undertaken early subsequent 12 months.

The hosts and years

Hosts of T20 World Cup

United States and West Indies — 2024

India and Sri Lanka — 2026

Australia and New Zealand — 2028

England, Ireland, Scotland — 2030

Hosts of Champions Trophy

Pakistan — 2025

India — 2029

Hosts of 50-over World Cup

South Africa, Zimbabwe, Namibia — 2027

India and Bangladesh — 2031

PCB chairman thanks ICC

In response, Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) Chairman Ramiz Raja thanked the ICC for awarding the ICC Champions Trophy 2025 to Pakistan, saying the occasion will showcase Pakistan’s ardour for the game, an announcement from the PCB mentioned.

The ICC Board’s resolution means Pakistan will defend the ICC Champions Trophy title in their yard when the eight-team and 15-match match is held at three iconic venues in February 2025. Pakistan had defeated India by 180 runs in the 2017 match at The Oval.

“I’m happy no-end with the ICC’s resolution to choose Pakistan as a host nation for one among their elite tournaments. By allocating a significant international occasion to Pakistan, the ICC has expressed full confidence and religion in our administration and operational capabilities and abilities,” he said.

“We have continued to demonstrate how a great host we are and through the ICC Champions Trophy 2025, we will again showcase our passion and love for the sport as this event will be a boon to the millions of home fans, who will see world class teams and their favourite international players from close quarters,” he added.

“We not solely endeavour to plan and ship a world-class occasion, we can even put together and discipline a powerful and formidable facet that may carry out and entertain our residence followers. We noticed through the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup marketing campaign how the nation obtained united and the ICC Champions Trophy 2025 at residence will probably be one other alternative to additional strengthen that bond as we defend the title,” Raja mentioned.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Related Post