SMA Trophy 2021 – Ruturaj Gaikwad runs – Deepak Hooda form – Akshay Karnewar record



Odisha denied by umpiring gaffe, Hyderabad and Rajasthan maintain all-win information

A hat-trick, a 4-over return with out giving up a run, a controversial boundary name that rescued the defending champions and scintillating performances from IPL stars have been among the many many highlights from the group levels of the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy, India’s home T20 competitors.

As the caravan strikes to New Delhi for the knockouts, amid worsening air high quality that has left the native administration considering a lockdown, here is a fast have a look at these made it and those that missed out.

Group A

Defending champions Tamil Nadu and Maharashtra, led by the in-form Ruturaj Gaikwad, each made the lower on the again of 4 wins in 5 matches. However, Maharashtra should play the pre-quarterfinal regardless of ending with a greater internet run fee than TN as a result of head-to-head is the primary criterion for groups tied on factors. When the 2 sides met, TN comfortably defended 167 despite Gaikwad’s 30-ball half-century.

Maharashtra will not have Gaikwad’s companies from right here on, as he’s a part of India’s T20I staff for the New Zealand sequence. TN, who endured an enormous slice of luck en route within the group stage, will not have any such worries, having a full squad to select from.

In what proved to be a turning level, a remaining-over umpiring gaffe resulted in Odisha being denied a boundary. M Ashwin’s ft have been involved with the rope whilst he went past the road to push the ball again in – and Odisha lost the match by one run. Punjab have been the closest among the many different sides to qualification, however finally misplaced out after taking place to TN.

Group B

Bengal stole the highest spot from excessive-flying Karnataka in the final group game, however each side made it via to the knockouts with none hiccups. Both sides might be lacking key gamers due to both India A or nationwide duties. Bengal might be with out Abhimanyu Easwaran and Wriddhiman Saha, whereas Karnataka might be with out Mayank Agarwal, Ok. Gowtham, Devdutt Padikkal and Prasidh Krishna.

Shreevats Goswami, controversially unnoticed of the group levels, has a possibility to make amends as he returns for the knockouts. Goswami was unnoticed resulting from Saha’s availability, regardless of being among the many high three run-getters within the match for the facet in three of the final 5 seasons.
Mumbai was the practically-facet from this group, having completed with three wins in 5 matches. Although captain Ajinkya Rahane high-scored with 286 runs in 5 video games at a strike fee of 133, together with 4 half-centuries, they could not capitalise. Prithvi Shaw’s poor form – 107 runs in 5 innings, 83 of which got here in their final game against Baroda after being knocked out – did not assist issues both.

Group C

Rajasthan have been the undisputed leaders, sustaining an all-win record to blaze into the knockouts, whilst Himachal staved off competitors from Andhra and Jharkhand to squeeze into the knockouts because the second facet from the group.

Much of Rajasthan’s working was achieved by their new signing Deepak Hooda, alongside established hand Mahipal Lomror. Hooda, who moved from Baroda after a spat with Krunal Pandya final 12 months, high-scored with 291 runs in 5 video games, together with an unbeaten 39-ball 75 after strolling into bat at 10 for two to assist beat Jharkhand. More than the 4 half-centuries he struck, his strike fee of 175 stood out. Ravi Bishnoi, the legspinner, impressed with the ball, choosing up eight wickets in 5 video games.
Himachal, in the meantime, have been propped up by Rishi Dhawan, who completed the group levels with 14 wickets, third-finest. This included his profession-finest figures of 6 for 23 that helped pip Jammu & Kashmir in a thriller after his 26-ball 45* had set the sport up within the first place.

Group D

Gujarat topped the pool with 4 wins in 5 video games, on the again of medical batting performances, led by Priyank Panchal. However, their designated captain will not be obtainable for the knockouts due to India A commitments, together with Arzan Nagwaswalla, the left-arm quick bowler who picked up seven wickets. Piyush Chawla, who featured in only one sport at IPL 2021, proved why he is not a spent power but. He picked up 5 wickets in as many video games and was economical, conceding at simply 6.42 per over.

The Sanju Samson-led Kerala took the second spot, after overcoming stiff competitors from Madhya Pradesh. Both sides managed three wins, however Kerala pipped them on head-to-head, within the staff’s remaining league engagement, making light work of a 172-chase courtesy stroke-crammed half-centuries from Samson and Sachin Baby. Meanwhile Venkatesh Iyer, who made it to the India’s T20I facet on the again of a breakout IPL season, managed only one half-century on the high of the order in 5 outings for MP.

Group E

They named two captains and two squads previous to departure, the form of confusion and chaos not new to Hyderabad cricket. But on the sector, they managed to show a nook, successful all 5 video games to make the quarterfinals. Tanmay Agarwal, the captain, is presently the match’s highest run-getter with 302 runs in 5 innings at a strike fee of 150, whereas left-arm seamer CV Milind leads the wicket charts with 16 scalps, together with a better of 5 for 8 that helped defend 147 against Uttar Pradesh.

Saurashtra have been the second qualifiers from the group, with 4 wins in 5 video games. While Jaydev Unadkat led the wicket charts, Sheldon Jackson, who returned to his house state after a stint with Puducherry on the finish of the 2020-21 season, left his imprint with the bat, high scoring with 221 runs in 5 matches. Their solely loss was in a last-over thriller against Hyderabad, the place Unadkat joined Prerak Mankad at 67 for six after which placed on a close to century stand to arrange a defence of 173. Hyderabad gained by two wickets with three balls to spare. Hanuma Vihari, who returned to house like Jackson, from Andhra, had underwhelming returns, 57 of his 94 runs coming in a single innings alone.

Plate Group

Two-time Ranji winners Vidarbha proved no match for the remainder of the pack, as they emerged runaway winners from this group. Meghalaya and Tripura fought onerous to submit 4 wins in 5 video games, however could not shut out video games in opposition to Vidarbha.

Shashank Kishore is a senior sub-editor at ESPNcricinfo

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Related Post