Which Australian cities will host the T20 World Cup 2022?


The Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG) will host the 2022 ICC Men’s T20 World Cup Final.
The Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG) will host the 2022 ICC Men’s T20 World Cup Final.

The subsequent T20 World Cup will be performed in seven Australian cities in October-November 2022, the International Cricket Council (ICC) mentioned in a press release.

The occasion which is scheduled to happen between October 16 and November 13 subsequent 12 months will see a complete of 45 matches hosted throughout Adelaide, Brisbane, Geelong, Hobart, Melbourne, Perth and Sydney.

The occasion’s remaining will be hosted beneath lights at the MCG on November 13 whereas the semi-finals will be hosted at the Sydney Cricket Ground and Adelaide Oval on November 9 and 10, respectively.

Champions Australia and runner-up New Zealand plus Afghanistan, Bangladesh, England, India, Pakistan and South Africa as the subsequent highest-ranked groups will achieve direct entry into the Super 12 stage of the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2022.

Namibia, Scotland, Sri Lanka and the West Indies will play in Round 1.

The 4 remaining spots at Australia 2022 will be stuffed through the ongoing qualification pathway, culminating in two world qualifying tournaments one to happen in Oman in February and the different in Zimbabwe in June/July.

Commenting on the announcement, ICC Head of Events Chris Tetley mentioned: “We are wanting ahead to seeing the return of ICC occasions to Australia and are delighted to announce the seven host cities for the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2022. Following the success of the ICC Women’s T20 World Cup in 2020 and a two 12 months postponement, our sights at the moment are firmly set on planning for the 2022 occasion in collaboration with the LOC.

With 12 groups already confirmed in the line-up, Tetley mentioned they eagerly await the fruits of the qualification course of to see which different groups will be a part of them.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Related Post